History of Sosua Dominican Republic

The history of Sosua Dominican Republic started in 1938 when the Dominican Republic offered Jews refugee from Hitlers Germany.

At the beginning of the 20th Century, the United Fruit Company established a banana plantation around Sosua.

There is a natural bay forming Sosua beach.

"In 1938, with the Evian Conference in France. The international gathering was convened at the initiative of U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt in order to find a solution for the increasing numbers of Jewish refugees fleeing Europe in the wake of the Nazi ascent."  Forward.com

"Sosúa got its name from the Sosúa River which flows through this region. The river ends in Sosúa Bay about 1,400 feet from the west side of Sosúa beach. The word Sosúa means “worm” in the native language of the Chibchas, an indigenous culture that lived predominantly in the northern part of South America. The Chibchas, Arawak, and other tribes migrated through the Lesser Antilles, and eventually settled in Hispaniola, Puerto Rico, and Cuba." sosuamuseum.org

At the 1938 Evian Conference Rafael Trujillo offered to accept up to 100,000 Jewish refugees; about 800 German and Austrian Jewish refugees received visas by the Dominican government between 1940 and 1945 (see Dominican Jews) and settled in Sosúa. The government provided them with land and resources with which they created a dairy and cheese factory, named Productos Sosúa still in existence today. Descendants of the original settlers still live in Sosúa, where they maintain a synagogue and a museum.

It has the nickname "Tropical Zion."

The town was little known until tourism took off in the island in the mid 1980s, and dominated by girls working here as "boom boom" grils, and for fee you can take them home.

Sosúa is a small town in the Puerto Plata province of the Dominican Republic. Located approximately 4 miles (6.4 km) from the Puerto Plata International Airport (POP), the town is accessed primarily by Camino Cinco, or Highway 5, which runs much of the length of the country's North coastline. The town is divided into three sectors: El Batey, which is the main section where most tourists visit, Sosúa Abajo, and Los Charamicos.

Mayors of Sosua

ilana neumann

Present Mayor: Licenciada Ilana Neumann - August 10, 2010 - 

Former: Vladimir Céspedes 1996-2010

Photos History of Sosua Dominican Republic

Join the conversation!

Log In to Leave a Comment or Join

Comments 0

Related Topics


  1. Home |
  2. Log In |
  3. Join |
  4. Hobo Gear |
  5. About |

Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved.